USB connection to macbook not working

Hi guys

I bought a new 2018 ipad pro (with usb c connection) yesterday, and astropad won’t connect via usb through my macbook pro. I’ve tried deleting and then downloading and installing the program on my computer, but it was the same. The usb c cable and connector works fine as the ipad charges whilst it is plugged in. Any idea how I can sort this problem out, as the reason I bought this is I work as an illustrator and the wifi connection doesn’t have a quick enough response time.

Hello sugscott!

I’d be happy to help you troubleshoot through this.

While having your iPad connected to your Mac via Wi-Fi, plug in the USB C cable. Then bring up the Luna sidebar, at the top, what does the connection display? It should either say USB or low/med/high Quality connection.

Also, just so we can get a better idea, can you tell me what type of Mac you have?

Hi there

The connection display says medium/low/high quality connection even if I have the usb plugged in. Then if I go into settings it says it is connected via wifi, it doesn’t recognise that the usb is plugged in.

I am using a macbook pro 13inch, 2017 with two thunderbolt 3 ports (usb c).

the ipad is a 64gb 12.9 inch 2018 ipad pro

I may be wrong, but I recall reading somewhere that the USB-C cable provided with the iPad Pro is a charge cable and not a proper USB data cable.

Hi Andrew

Really!? If thats true then thats pretty low of apple, if you spend that much on an ipad pro you would expect to be able to transfer data on the cable :-1:, you don’t have any examples of UBS C cables that are data cables do you? Do you think I should get in contact with apple as well?

I think I got it wrong. Apple’s supplied USB C cable is capable of USB 2 speeds. It just can’t do high bandwidth. This is an interesting article:

https://appleinsider.com/articles/18/11/15/usb-c-cable-shopping-for-an-ipad-or-thunderbolt-3-mac-is-still-a-nightmare-for-consumers