Astropad with CAD programs and 3D Programs like Rhino

Hi everybody!

I have a biiiig question because I am planning to buy or a new iPad Pro 2 and make the subscription with Astropad or a Wacom screen tablet.

I am an architect and a designer and I use CAD programs like Vectorworks, Archicad and Autocad and 3D programs like Rhino and Sketch Up to name a few.

I´d love to make the iPad Pro my tablet for everyday use at the office and home (for its portability, the performance and for the price which is quiet lower if compared with a Wacom Screen Tablet), so I´d like to know if Astropad is currently giving you the same performance as with the drawings programs (I mean Photoshop, etc etc).

Can you use all the options? Have someone tried it out with such programs?

Thank you so much for your availability and looking forward to hearing from you.

Have a great day! POLFUS

Hi Polfus,

Unfortunately we would not recommend use with CAD programs.

It would work, but Astropad currently isn’t optimized for AutoCAD/CAD programs.
The sidebar can be customized for these programs’ shortcuts, but some shortcuts are limited though.

We will be working to improve this, but at this time it may not be the best setup for your programs.

If you would still like to try, you could take a look at Astropad Studio’s 7-day trial
and see how well it works with your setup .

Hi Malyse!

Thank you so much for the answer.

That´s pity because a lot of architects who are using the iPad Pro -as an
every day tool- need this important optimization. I know you have a lot of
priorities to improve the jet excellent Astropad, but this particular
feature and compatibility would be really an important working-change for
many people like me who are willing to use a very portable and great device
like the iPad.

An example: you can draw at the office, CAD and modeling let´s say and then
you can go on the building construction site to take notes, hand drawings,